Burning Ambulance, the arts and culture zine and website founded in 2010 by journalist Philip Freeman and artist I.A. Freeman, has grown over the last decade from a small print zine to a website and, beginning in 2017, a podcast offering in-depth interviews with musicians from the worlds of jazz, metal, and modern classical music. Now BA is celebrating 10 years of existence by expanding again, this time starting a label, Burning Ambulance Music, which will release its first CDs in 2021.

As an announcement, celebration, and fundraiser, BA is putting out Eyes Shut, Ears Open: A Burning Ambulance Compilation on Friday, October 2, only on Bandcamp. The digital-only set includes exclusive tracks from artists including saxophonist Mats Gustafsson; pianist Aaron Parks; improvising Black music ensemble Burnt Sugar the Arkestra Chamber; saxophonist Melissa Aldana; drummer Whit Dickey and pianist Matthew Shipp; saxophonist Ivo Perelman and trumpeter Nate Wooley; bassist Melvin Gibbs; jazz/grindcore duo Dead Neanderthals; violinist Jason Kao Hwang; and more. Most of the $10 purchase price will raise funds for future Burning Ambulance Music releases, but 25% of the money raised will be donated to the Jazz Foundation of America’s Musicians’ Emergency Fund, which provides housing assistance, medical care, and financial assistance to musicians.

Track listing:

1. Mats Gustafsson – Soprano Summit for Burning Automobile*
2. Eric Hofbauer/Garrison Fewell – Angels and Demons at Play**
3. Jason Kao Hwang – Prayer*
4. Ivo Perelman/Nate Wooley – Seven A*
5. William Hooker Trio – Commonplace Travel
6. Melvin Gibbs – Glyphic*
7. Burnt Sugar The Arkestra Chamber – Oakanda Spoonful*
8. Whit Dickey/Matthew Shipp – Staircase*
9. Aaron Parks Trio – Eleutheria**
10. Matthew Golombisky – Volvimos*
11. Melissa Aldana – Over There*
12. Dead Neanderthals – Torched*
13. Dog Life – Högbacka Baby*
14. Nick Millevoi – Point No Point*

*previously unreleased studio recording
**previously unreleased live recording

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

%d bloggers like this: